Carrying You with my Blood

© All photographs are copyrighted and all rights reserved.
Please do not use any photographs without permission (even for private use).
The use of any work without consent of the artist is PROHIBITED and will lead automatically to consequences.
“Extinguish my sight, and I can still see you;
plug up my ears, and I can still hear;
even without feet I can walk toward you,
and without mouth I can still implore.
Break off my arms, and I will hold you
with my heart as if it were a hand;
strangle my heart, and my brain will still throb;
and should you set fire to my brain,
I still can carry you with my blood.”
(From “The Book of Hours” by Rainer Maria Rilke)

This is a view of the Holy Ganges shot at dusk from Jatar ghat in Varanasi (Benaras).
Those bamboo sticks carry baskets with candles lifted up in order to tell the spirits to welcome the people who recently departed from life…

Join the photographer at www.facebook.com/laurent.goldstein.photography

2 Responses to “Carrying You with my Blood”

  1. Robert Niemann Says:

    The quote just blew my mind! if it’s not the most passionate thing I have ever read. Thank you for this blog. It is an inspiration from start to finish.

  2. designldg Says:

    Thank you for commenting so kindly Robert.
    Have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

