Between our Souls

© All rights reserved.

All photographs are copyrighted and all rights reserved.
Please do not use any photographs without permission (even for private use).
The use of any work without consent of the artist is PROHIBITED and will lead automatically to consequences.

 

“What difference is there between us, save a restless dream that follows my soul but fears to come near you?”
(Kahlil Gibran – Lebanese born American philosophical Essayist, Novelist and Poet. 1883-1931)

A few days ago at dawn I was taking a few pictures at Nepali ghat along the Ganges in Varanasi (Benaras) where many pilgrims came to worship the holy waters.
A voice called me but I couldn’t see where it was coming from the crowd around me until someone grabbed the lower part of my pyjama.
Suddenly I saw the smallest person I ever met so far.
We spoke for a while, he was coming from a village located at 12 km away from the Eternal city, he was in fact guiding a group of people to the river, he said he saw me several times at different places with my camera and asked me to take his picture.
I step down a few stairs in order to be at his level and I made several shots of this happy man full of life.
He was wondering why I didn’t ask a tall person to be next to him on the picture as other photographers usually do in order to show the difference.
I told him that I was more interested by his soul.
He took a long time to see what I captured on the screen of my camera and he said that those portraits were nice, for the first time he wasn’t looking a dwarf, he enjoyed them.
He hold my hand for a moment and asked many questions, he wanted to know who I was.
His beautiful soul gave me energy and strengthened my faith…

One Response to “Between our Souls”

  1. YES !
    aT timeS we have tHiS encounTeRS wHicH allow uS to go on…
    kind regaRdS

Leave a Reply

