Being a Woman

Being a Woman

© All rights reserved.

All photographs are copyrighted and all rights reserved.
Please do not use any photographs without permission (even for private use).
The use of any work without consent of the artist is PROHIBITED and will lead automatically to consequences.

“Being a woman is a terribly difficult task, since it consists principally in dealing with men.”
(Joseph Conrad – English novelist, 1857-1924)

Those ladies were working on traditional Chikan embroidery in their little village nearby Lucknow, the capital of the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh.
They were expecting me and they were wearing their nicest sarees with a few jewels and some heavy make-up.
When I came inside the house one protected her face with a part of cloth in order to cover her shyness while the other was openly showing her beauty.
I was touched by their attitude and the way they behaved according their personality
When I came to this village I thought that I would only take pictures of this amazing artcraft and I didn’t know then that I’ll make many portraits of the ladies and children living there.
They had so much to offer to my camera…

One Response to “Being a Woman”

  1. yes women have to deal with men and their natures
    but
    also women deal women and their own natures

    I have wondered if women in certain countries/cultures cover themselves in order to protect men from their own basic natures. And men want the women covered because they are well aware of their own natures when it comes to women. I wonder.

Leave a Reply

